A stenciled Christmas

Hello! This week I’m playing with my stencils to create fun Christmas cards. Today’s card was made by using a Hero Arts stencil called Star Tree. I pulled out my embossing paste and mixed in a few different colors of green Distress inks (mowed lawn, evergreen bough and peeled paint). I have had my eye on the new Ranger texture paste but I have yet to get my hands on it.

image

After mixing the paste, I temporarily adhered the stencil to a precut white panel of Tim Holtz watercolor paper, smooth side up. Then, I used a palette knife to spread the mixture across the stencil as evenly as possible. I wanted a thick coat so there would be dimension on the finished product.

image

I set it aside to dry for about 10 minutes and hit it with the heat tool to help it along. It needed some pop, so I painted the stars with my Gold Wink of Stella pen and splattered some gold Perfect Pearls mist to the background.

image

To finish it off, I tied a bow around the bottom with Heidi Swapp seam binding and adhered the panel to a craft cardstock base. I’ll be back tomorrow with a stunning Christmas card using a stencil that’s not even Christmas themed. Thanks for stopping by and Happy Crafting!

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “A stenciled Christmas

  1. Sue D December 17, 2014 at 6:57 am Reply

    I like the dimension and the gold stars.

    Like

Post a Comment

