Crafty Giveaway Winner + Distress Ink Fun

Happy Thursday everyone! As promised I am here to announce the winner of my first Crafty Giveaway!

The winner is Beatrice Lawson!  Congrats Beatrice, I have emailed you. Thanks for following my blog:)

For everyone else, you still have a chance to win some crafty goodies… Every Thursday until Christmas! All you have to do is follow my blog and you will be entered to win. The prize pack includes items I have duplicates of or never used as well as a few things from my recent World Card Making Day Winner prize pack! 

And now, here’s today’s card share:)

image

I wanted to get away from Christmas card making for the day… Don’t worry I’ll return soon with a post featuring the Christmas tags I’m working on. There are a few birthdays in January and I wanted to get a head start.

First of all, this card was so fun to make! I started with a white card base cut at 4″ x 5 1/4″. Now, not just any cardstock will take Tim Holtz Distress Ink well. My favorites are Papertrey Ink 110lb white cardstock and Tim Holtz watercolor paper. Both work really well with the inks and tolerate the blending motion of the blending tool. I wanted to play around with my Tim Holtz Distress Inks, so I picked out a few shades to blend. (Worn lipstick, Mustard Seed, Spiced Marmalade). Using my Tim Holtz round mini ink blending tool, I randomly chose areas on the card to apply my ink.. Being careful to blend the colors together with each having an equal part on the card. It was beautiful just with the distress ink background, but I thought it needed an extra punch! So I picked out a stencil called Flower Medley from Dylusions and placed it over the top of my card base using scotch masking tape to hold it in place. I applied Versamark straight from the ink pad onto the paper. I did my best to mush it down and get into all the small areas of the stencil. After carefully peeling up the stencil, I sprinkled my white embossing powder over the whole of the card and heat embossed it with my heat tool.

To finish off the card, I added a strip of vellum which I heat embossed with a happy birthday sentiment from Papertrey Ink. I adhered the card base to a standard A2 sized card and sprinkled a few enamel dots and such. The little yellow flower sequins came in my Sparkle and Sprinkle kit from PTI, aren’t they so cute?

Well, thanks for stopping by and Happy Crafting!

Tagged: , ,

3 thoughts on “Crafty Giveaway Winner + Distress Ink Fun

  1. Mary-Anne V. December 11, 2014 at 6:32 am Reply

    Beautiful colour on this bday card.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Helen F. December 12, 2014 at 10:17 am Reply

    What a pretty card, love the cheery colors and embossed finish.

    Like

  3. Amy C. December 12, 2014 at 1:26 pm Reply

    This is so beautiful!

    Like

Post a Comment

