Coloring vellum

Hello there! Today I wanted to share a card I made using a really cool technique that I learned from Jennifer Mcguire.  I just love her. You can watch her tutorial on how to color vellum here.

Here is Jennifer’s card that I drew my inspiration from:

070714-Vellum-Jennifer-McGuire-ink

I looked in my stash for all the things I would need to create a similar card. You will need clear vellum, any type of colored markers (I used Tim Holtz Distress markers) and any white embossing powder. First step is to choose your main image. Your main image can be clouds,balloons, flowers, anything you want it to be. I chose a flower stamp from Avocado Arts. I first stamped the image on my vellum with Versamark ink, then heat embossed it with white embossing powder.

mo 501Once you have embossed the image, you can now either cut it out using the white embossed edge as your guide or go ahead and color your image and cut it out afterward.

The trick is to flip over your image so that you color on the back side of the vellum. I chose to color each flower a different color without getting too detailed with shading. It would be fun to experiment with coloring the petals different colors though.

mo 500

I then cut out my flowers and leaves. I layered them and popped them up on pop dots to give the card some dimension. I love how transluscent they look when popped up like that. I created a dry embossed background and a sentiment banner for a clean and simple design. Hope you enjoyed this quick tutorial! Thanks for stopping by my blog and happy crafting!

Tagged:

One thought on “Coloring vellum

  1. Virginia Lu December 7, 2014 at 9:01 am Reply

    Beautifully inspired card, Tosha! I love the coloring on vellum! Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

Post a Comment

